The challenge of presenting research in a visible format

Every year my Uni holds a conference for research students called New Horizons. I went last year but was at such an early stage of my research I had nothing to present. This year I wanted to take part but still didn’t feel I was at the stage to be able to present a slot in the main room so I thought I’d submit a poster.

Although called a ‘poster’ it’s not usually designed. They are one static slide to communicate your ideas and messages, mostly through text but also tables and diagrams so that people can understand your research without you having to be there to explain it. They are a great way to get a lot of information across in a snapshot. Similar to infographics or dashboards in a sense but generally more detailed.

What I wanted to do with my poster submission was something a bit more visual but that still communicated the standard format of title, summary, methodology and conclusion. I really like the idea of comics as you can get a lot over in a small space. I was really pleased with the end result as it was visually appealing and also seemed to encourage people to come and talk to me. See what you think…

New Horizons 2013 - Poster, slide 1
New Horizons 2013 – Poster, slide 1
New Horizons 2013 Slide 2
New Horizons 2013 Slide 2

One thought on “The challenge of presenting research in a visible format

  1. Pingback: A spoon full of pretty makes the stats go down | The Year of the Marketer

Leave a Reply

